I have nothing to say!?

December 29, 2009 at 3:33 PM | Posted in opportunities, writer's block | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

[tweetmeme source=”jen_conaway”]

What do you do about writer’s block??!! Could it possibly be that I have nothing to say? NOTHING!!?

I doubt it, but I find myself sitting down to write after a week of family and fun feeling like I don’t have a single thing to share.

I guess I just found a topic I can write about! How do you handle writer’s block? Even if it is temporary, 1 day, 2 days… it can feel like it will never end.

I have tried a few things that seem to work-

  • Write about something you are thinking about it – even if it is the color of the car or how dirty the car is- just getting words to flow will start to release the tension.
  • Write about something you are passionate about- it might not have anything to do with the current task on which you are blocked but, again, it starts the flow (a few months ago I babbled on about going to the airport and the next day the writer’s block was gone).
  • Just walk away and STOP worrying about it! I know it sounds impossible. Again, it’s about relaxing.
  • Maybe, just maybe you should be writing about something else. I realize that’s not helpful if you have an assignment and are blocked on the topic. Try sitting down to see what does flow. I’ve had moments when something else was just burning to flow out of the pen (keyboard). Let it flow out, don’t bother to edit or perfect the content. In my case, and a clients’, as soon as that information made it to the page the assigned content came easily.

(It turns out the content that was ‘in the way’ turned into a fabulous article!)

Those are a few ideas that have worked for my clients’ and me. I’d love to hear what has worked for you! Share your thoughts.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

