Social Media Strategy

January 26, 2010 at 8:41 PM | Posted in content | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

How do you use Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and other social media? Even your blog (if you have one) -does it have a point, a focus? If you are just out there spewing quotes from everyone else how much of an impact are you making?

This was a hot topic at a recent seminar I facilitated. Some of the attendees were very proud of their 10,000 Twitter followers. They should be, it’s quite an accomplishment to have all of those folks following you. Then I asked how much business they were generating from those 10,000 people. Most of them couldn’t tell me even IF they were generating business from social media. Others had a few people contact them but nothing fabulous.

A common theme- most of the individuals using social media didn’t have a strategy. If you are content to simply put random information out on a sporadic basis and are not concerned about bringing in clients and making business connections then keep doing what you are doing.  Have a great time!

If you are interested in building your business using social media I have a few suggestions:

  • Focus on a few sites at a time- you don’t need to be on every site, pick the sites that speak to you and that you will regularly update
  • Regularly update your status- by regular I mean at least every other day, I suggest updating a few times a day at different times of the day; It doesn’t have to be onerous. Simply update what you are doing, retweet or repost an interesting fact, article, blog that someone shared with you. I see so many folks that simply place quotes from other people on their status update and they do it multiple times a day.

The whole point of social media is to be social, build relationships, share relevant, interesting information. I don’t want to read someone else’s quote, I want to know what is going on in your head. How else am I to build a relationship with you? To determine if I know, like and trust you? (the Keys to getting someone to purchase- they must know, like and trust you)

Don’t misunderstand, the occasional quote is a good thing, it does help me to understand what inspires you. But I really want to know what you are thinking.

  • Post relevant information- Recently someone posted details about just how sick they were- frankly, that was information I did NOT need to know. If you are using social media primarily to build business relationships focus on posting relevant information. Mix it up, tell me about a seminar you attended, about a revelation you had and share ideas to XXXX (insert ideas relevant to your business).
  • You can always mix in information about what’s going on in your life – for instance, my internet provider has been down for about 4 hours, so I Tweeted that I had to find things to do that don’t require the internet.  Or let us all know about where you are going for your 20th anniversary. Just be mindful that you are building business relationships.
  • Share your successes and congratulate others on their success.

Those are just a few of the ideas I share with my clients to help them build a profitable social media strategy. You can build a successful strategy. If you’re not sure how I can help. Get in touch with me.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great Post, Jennifer,

    Social Networking has now turned into “Narcissistic Networking” and Social Media has now almost entirely become “Broadcast Media.” The idea behind networking is that relationships build business. The idea of online social networking now seems to be “Oh, Goodie, I can bombard my friends and connections with my greatness, my webinars, my workshops, etc.” It’s sad, really. Most of these people would never attend a real live networking event and constantly “sell” themselves – but they do it all the time online. Here’s a hint – online is no different from the real world.

    • I completely agree.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

